The NHL Awards - Darts On A Wall

Ah, the NHL awards.  Tonight’s the night where fans cheer, or are outraged.

After the jump, you’ll find our picks for the 2010-11 NHL Awards (our picks in bold) along with a little blurb about why that person was chosen.

Hart Trophy (League MVP)

Corey Perry (ANH)

Daniel Sedin (VAN)

Martin St. Louis (TB)

MVP is the most valuable player.  And,while Daniel Sedin did have a 104 point outburst in Vancouver this year, I’m going to tip this one to Anaheim’s Corey Perry.  A fifty goal season for Perry was the glue on the balsa fin to the rocket that was the Ducks’ drive to the playoffs.  Put a fifty cent piece on Perry to win the big one.

Vezina Trophy (Best Goalie)

Roberto Luongo (VAN)

Tim Thomas (BOS)

Pekka Rinne (NSH)

Perhaps it’s more theatrics than actual statistics here.  It’s tough to shelter out Boston’s incredible playoff run here, but let’s pretend it didn’t happen at all.  Thomas’ 9 shutouts in 57 games leads all Vezina Trophy finalists (Poor Henrik Lundqvist had 11 and got snubbed from it all), and I believe Thomas’ .938 SV% is .001 higher than Dominik Hasek’s gonzo 1998-99 campaign.  Seriously, it was gonzo.  Look it up.

Thomas for the Vezina.

Norris Trophy (Best Defenceman)

Nicklas Lidstrom (DET)

Shea Weber (NSH)

Zdeno Chara (BOS)

Lidstrom looks like he’s never going to run out of gas in tallying a 62 point season for the Red Wings.  Throw in 7 PP goals and almost 23 minutes a night of ice time, and he looks like a pretty good candidate.  Both Weber and Chara aren’t far behind, but it seems moot at this point.  Lidstrom by two lengths.

Calder Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)

Jeff Skinner – CAR

Michael Grabner – NYI

Logan Couture – SJ

Jeff Skinner led all rookies in points with 63 on a marginally talented Hurricanes club.  Grabner led all rookies with 34 goals on a possibly less talented Islander club.  Flip a coin on this one, I’ll pick Skinner.

Other, less explained pics:

Jack Adams Trophy (Coach of the Year)

Alain Vigneault (VAN)

Dan Bylsma (PIT)

Barry Trotz (NAS)

Lady Byng Trophy (Gentlemanly Conduct)

Nicklas Lidstrom (DET)

Loui Eriksson (DAL)

Martin St. Louis (TB)

Everyone’s favourite trophy is the Lady Byng.  I pick…Loui Eriksson.  Why?  Because the Honky Tonk Man said so.

Selke Trophy (Defensive Forward)

Pavel Datsyuk (DET)

Ryan Kesler (VAN)

Jonathan Toews (CHI)

Lester B. Pearson Ted Lindsay Award (NHLPA-MVP)

Corey Perry (ANH)

Daniel Sedin (VAN

Steven Stamkos (TB)


Mike Gillis (VAN)

David Poile (NAS)

Steve Yzerman (TB)

Alright, it’s time for a nap.  Be sure you’re watching the awards with your favourite beverage and a song.
Follow our Twitter feed @OilOnWhyte

Become a fan on our Facebook page too!

Click Here to visit our NHL main page “Too Many Men” – Fansided’s Hockey Home on the Internets

comments powered by Disqus